My successful Paleo / low-lectin / insoluble fibre diet

This is my basic, default Paleo / low lectin / insoluble fibre diet.

A small amount of animal protein (meat, port, chicken, eggs etc) with any low FODMAP and low lectin insoluble fibre vegetables – preferably raw salad veges. And that’s basically it.

Animal protein is constipating so try to keep to small portions and don’t eat this after 6.00 pm at night. A paleo diet can make your IBS symptoms worse if you eat too much meat.

I’ve found I do really well on salad, either because it is relatively low in fibre due to its high water content and possibly because of its natural food enzymes. But not everyone can tolerate salad. You might need to gradually introduce this. This is a basic, default healing diet – it needn’t be permanent. I don’t include fruit because of the FODMAPs, mainly fructose and / or its soluble fibre.

My diet:

Breakfast: 2 soft-boiled eggs and steamed vegetables: zucchini, carrot & string beans with small amount of coconut oil. One pot of black tea.
Lunch: Tinned salmon (with bones for calcium) , sardines or salami with salad with cucumber, tomato, olives, avocado, carrot.
Mid-afternoon if hungry: small plate of low FODMAP vegetables or salad.
Dinner: 6.00 pm or as early as possible. A small amount of meat or seafood
7.00 to 8.00 pm. Low starch & low FODMAP vegetables (sweet potato, pumpkin, string beans, zucchini) or salad.
Glasses of water when thirsty.

Why this diet is so restrictive:

Antinutrients – the lectins

The low lectins mean no grains, legumes, dairy or white potato – so this diet is based on the Paleo Autoimmune Diet which excludes the most toxic lectins.  These are proteins in food that not only can damage the intestinal wall but inhibit natural digestive enzymes. Grains, legumes, dairy and white potato are all high in lectins. Nuts contain antinutrients called phytates, and sugar – which isn’t strictly an antinutrient – feeds pathogens – so I exclude these as well.

The importance of insoluble fibre

If you have a bacterial overgrowth such as SIBO, the bacteria tend to feed on probiotic high FODMAP vegetables, which are soluble vegetables. Bacteria don’t feel much on insoluble fibre – the fibre with tough walls which isn’t soluble in water.

FODMAP vegetables tend to be mostly soluble fibre, and these vegetables are prebiotic, which feed bacteria. When you have an overgrowth like SIBO you want to restrict any vegetable that ferments in the small intestine, as this is where all the gas is produced.

My website is geared to explaining how all this works. I have provided links to reputable or scientific websites wherever possible. I don’t have any formal qualifications myself so have learned all this through years of reading.

It took a long time to find my optimal diet, mostly due to a lack of willpower.

A little about my background

I have GERD and over-eating issues as well, so have to constantly check meal serving sizes. I try not to eat later than 7.30 pm so I give my dinner time to digest and try to go to bed no later than 9.30 pm, or I get hungry again.

I was an alcoholic from my late teens to my thirties which didn’t help; I now no longer drink alcohol at all. This could explain why I do best on raw salad. There could be a mild pancreatic insufficiency as well.

I can vouch for the fact that when I stick strictly to the diet and don’t overeat – it works very well, resulting in a complete reduction of IBS symptoms the next day. So the diet works immediately.

If you suffer from any form of IBS and from any of the symptoms – constipation, diarrhea, leaky gas, GERD symptoms including reflux, then this diet should be helpful for you.

This isn’t a strict Paleo Autoimmune diet as I still eat eggs & tomato.

Make sure you have enough calcium, so eat sardines or salmon with the bones, and plenty of green leafy vegetables like bok choi.

A good, free website to use to make sure you’re getting your daily requirement of nutrients is chronometer.

Tummyrumbles.

Leave a Reply

